
IDAHO WINE DIRECT SHIPPING REQUIREMENTS 

As of July 1, 2006, all wineries that ship wine directly to Idaho residents must first get the following 
permits: 

1. Wine tax permit from the Idaho State Tax Commission. 
2. Seller’s permit from the Tax Commission 
3. Direct shipper permit from the Idaho State Police’s Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau (“ABC”). 

To get the wine tax and direct shipper permits, complete form BWA, Beer and Wine Tax Permit 
Application (available on the Tax Commission’s Web site at tax.idaho.gov). Send it to the Tax 
Commission, which will issue your wine tax permit and forward the application to ABC. ABC will issue 
the direct shipper permit. You must attach the following to your permit application: 

• A minimum bond of $1,000 (required by the Tax Commission). 

• An initial permit fee of $50 (required by ABC). It costs $25 to renew each year. 

• If you’re an out‐of‐state business, a certified copy of your state’s alcohol beverage license 
(required by ABC). 

To get a seller’s permit, register online at business.idaho.gov or complete the Idaho Business 
Registration form (available on the Tax Commission’s Web site) and return it to the Tax Commission. 

Under this new law, direct shippers must: 

• Pay all sales, use and excise taxes on wine sold to Idaho residents and file the applicable 
monthly reports with the Tax Commission. 

• Report the total amount of wine shipped to residents in Idaho during a calendar year. The 
reports is due to ABC by January 31 of the following year. 

• Ship no more than 24 nine liter cases of wine annually to any Idaho resident. The wine must be 
for the residents’ personal use and not for resale (required by ABC). 

• Clearly label the outside of the shipping container with the following language: “Contains 
alcoholic beverages. Must be delivered to a person 21 years of age or older” (required by ABC). 

• Require the person who delivers the wine to verify the recipient is at least 21 years old, get the 
recipient’s signature and deny delivery to anyone who appears intoxicated (required by ABC). 

By completing the form BWA, direct shippers consent to the jurisdiction of ABC, the Tax Commission 
and any other state agency and Idaho court concerning enforcement of Idaho Code sections 23‐1309A 
and any related laws, rules and regulations. Idaho law doesn’t allow out‐of‐state brewers, distillers or 
retailers to ship beer or spirits directly to residents. 

  If you have any questions about direct shipping wine into Idaho, contact: 
  Idaho State Tax Commission  Idaho State Police 
  PO Box 36, Boise ID 83722  Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau 
  (208) 334‐7660  700 S. Stratford Drive, Suite 115  
  (800) 972‐7660 toll free  Meridian, ID 83642 
  (208) 884‐7060 
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