
          

          

          

          

          

          

          

          

            Idaho’s CWL Law At A Glance 
   I.C. 18-3302 

  Effective July 1, 2016 

 

Idaho’s Concealed Weapon’s License law was amended in the last legislative session and significant 

changes occur on July 1st of this year.  

 

A concealed weapon means any deadly weapon. A deadly weapon means any dirk, dirk knife, bowie 

knife, dagger, firearm, or any other device designed or intended to be capable of causing death or serious 

injury. A deadly weapon is not a knife or cleaver or other instrument used by a person in processing, 

preparing or eating food, or a knife with a blade of 4 inches or less, or a taser, stun-gun, pepper spray or 

mace. A regular CWL holder must apply and provide prints just as any new applicant to obtain an 

enhanced CWL. 

 

 All qualified persons 18 years of age or older can carry a deadly weapon outside the limits of 

a city.  

 Prohibited persons are those that are either charged with or convicted of a felony, a fugitive 

from justice, a drug user, mentally ill or lacking in capacity to care for oneself, received a 

dishonorable discharge, received a withheld or suspended sentence on a felony, an illegal 

alien, a person who has renounced his citizenship, is subject to a protection order, or is 

ineligible under federal law to own or possess a firearm. 

 An adult 21 years of age or older and a resident of Idaho can carry a handgun* concealed 

without a CWL inside city limits.  

 A non-resident adult 21 years of age or older can carry a deadly weapon outside city limits, 

but not inside city limits unless they possess a CWL/CWP from another state.  

 A person 18 years of age to under 21 years of age can carry a deadly weapon within city 

limits with a CWL that meets the requirements of the enhanced CWL. 

 A CWL shall be issued to a person 18 years of age to under 21 years of age if qualified. 

 An 18 to under 21 year old CWL shall expire on the person’s 21st birthday and the renewal 

procedure and associated costs are the same as an adult renewing an enhanced CWL and the 

renewal license issued shall be an enhanced CWL. 

 The 18 to under 21 year old CWL card shall be vertical in design distinguishing it from 

CWL’s issued to persons 21 years of age or older. 

 Non-immigrant persons visiting the U.S. cannot possess a firearm under federal law with a 

few exceptions such as hunting (18 U.S.C. 922(y)(2). Canadians often seek an Idaho CWL, 

however in addition to the above, the FBI cannot run a Canadian criminal history from 

fingerprints which is required under Idaho law, hence Canadians and other similar foreign 

nationals are disqualified from being issued a CWL. 

 

*Note, the legislation is flawed in that the legislation uses the word “handgun” instead of “deadly 

weapon” in I.C. 18-3302(4)(f). In essence, an Idaho resident 21 years of age or older can only carry a 

handgun concealed without a CWL inside city limits and not other deadly weapons, except outside city 

limits. 

Idaho Sheriffs' Association 
3100 S. Vista Ave. Suite 203 

Boise, ID 83705 

208-287-0001 

www.idahosheriffs.org 


