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Stephanie A. Altig

Deputy Attorney General

Office of the Attorney General
Idaho State Police

700 South Stratford Drive
Meridian, ID 83642-6202

* Dear DAG Altig:

I am in receipt of your letter inquiring if the State of New Jersey has reciprocity with a permit to
“carry a handgun issued by the State of Idaho and other states. Unfortunately, the State of New
Jersey does not. This is governed pursuant to N.J.S. 2C:58-4. Permits to carry handguns. I have
included a copy of the state statute for your review and records.

However, a non-resident of the State of New Jersey may apply for a permit to carry a handgun,

pursnant to N.J.S. 2C:58-4., by making application in person to the closest New Jersey State

Police barracks upon their entry into the State of New Jersey, excluding toll road stations.

If you require additional information please contact me directly at 609-882-2000, extension 6619,
Sincerely,

LZ.

Lt. Joseph M. Genova
Unit Head
Firearms Investigation Unit
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§ 2C:58-4. Permits to carry handguns

a. Scope and duration of authority. Any person who holds a valid permit to carry a
handgun issued pursuant to this section shall be authorized to carry a handgun in all parts of this
State, except as prohibited by section 2C:39-5¢. One permit shall be sufficient for all handguns
owned by the holder thereof, but the permit shall apply only to a handgun carried by the actual
and legal holder of the permit.

All permits to carry handguns shall expire 2 years from the date of issuance or, in the case

-+ .. of an employee of an armored car company, upon termination of his employment by the company
-+ occurring prior thereto whichever is earlier in time, and they may thereafter be renewed every 2
. years in the same manner and subject to the same conditions as in the case of original

applications.
" b. Application forms. All applications for permits to carry handguns, and all applications
for renewal of such permits, shall be made on the forms prescribed by the superintendent. Each
application shall set forth the full name, date of birth, sex, residence, occupation, place of
business or employment, and physical description of the applicant, and such other information as

- the superintendent may prescribe for the determination of the applicant’s eligibility for a permit

- and for the proper enforcement of this chapter. The application shall be signed by the applicant
- under oath, and shall be indorsed by three reputable persons who have known the applicant for at

x _ 1east 3 years preceding the date of application, and who shall certify thereon that the applicant is

-a person of good moral character and behavior.
¢. Investigation and approval. Each application shall in the first instance be submitted to
the chief police officer of the municipality in which the applicant resides, or to the
superintendent, (1) if the applicant is an employee of an armored car company, or (2) if there is
no chief police officer in the municipality where the applicant resides, or (3) if the applicant does

o ~ not reside in this State. The chief police officer, or the superintendent, as the case may be, shall

~ cause the fingerprints of the applicant to be taken and compared with any and all records
maintained by the municipality, the county in which it is located, the State Bureau of
Identification and the Federal Bureau of Identification. He shall also determine and record a
.complete description of each handgun the applicant intends to carry.

~No application shall be approved by the chief police officer or the superintendent unless the
applicant demonstrates that he is not subject to any of the disabilities set forth in 2C:58-3c¢., that
he is thoroughly familiar with the safe handling and use of handguns, and that he has a justifiable
need to carry a handgun. If the application is not approved by the chief police officer or the
superintendent within 60 days of filing, it shall be deemed to have been approved, unless the
applicant agrees to an extension of time in writing.

d. Issuance by Superior Court; fee. If the application has been approved by the chief
police officer or the superintendent, as the case may be, the applicant shall forthwith present it to
the Superior Court of the county in which the applicant resides, or to the Superior Court in any
county where he intends to carry a handgun, in the case of a nonresident or employee of an
armored car company. The court shall issue the permit to the applicant if, but only if| it is
- satisfied that the applicant is a person of good character who is not subject to any of the
* disabilities set forth in section 2C:58-3c., that he is thoroughly familiar with the safe handling
and use of handguns, and that he has a justifiable need to carry a handgun. The court may at its
discretion issue a limited-type permit which would restrict the applicant as to the types of



handguns he may carry and where and for what purposes such handguns may be carried. At the

P time of issuance, the applicant shall pay to the county clerk of the county where the permit was

~ issued a permit fee of $ 20.00. _
_ ¢. Appeals from denial of applications. Any person aggrieved by the denial by the chief
_.police officer or the superintendent of approval for a permit to carry a handgun may request a
~ hearing in the Superior Court of the county in which he resides or in any county in which he
~intends to-carry a handgun, in the case of a nonresident, by filing a written request for such a
. heating within 30 days of the denial. Copies of the request shall be served upon the
.- superintendent, the county prosecutor and the chief police officer of the municipality where the
~_applicant resides, if he is a resident of this State. The hearing shall be held within 30 days of the

. filing of the request, and no formal pleading or filing fee shall be required. Appeals from the

" determination at such a hearing shall be in accordance with law and the rules governing the
“courts of this State.
If the superintendent or chief police officer approves an application and the Supetior

S ‘Court denies the application and refuses to issue a permit, the applicant may appeal such denial
-+~ in accordance with law and the rules governing the courts of this State.

1, Revocation of permits. Any permit issued under this section shall be void at such time as the
. holder thereof becomes subject to any of the disabilities set forth in section 2C:58-3c¢., and the

" holder of such a void permit shall immediately surrender the permit to the superintendent who

- shall give notice to the licensing authority.
' Any permit may be revoked by the Superior Court, after hearing upon notice to the

B holder, if the court finds that the holder is no longer qualified for the issuance of such a permit.

The county prosecutor of any county, the chief police officer of any municipality, the

. superintendent or any citizen may apply to the court at any time for the revocation of any permit

* issued pursuant to this section.
(L. 1978, c. 95; amended by .. 1979, ¢. 179, § 12; L. 1981, ¢. 135, § 1.)
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Does the state of New Jersey recognize Idaho’s Concealed Weapons License?

Regular; IpanO CopE § 18-3302
Enhanced:  IpaHo CODE § 18-3302K
Both

_ Y Neither

Does the state of New Jersey require a reciprocity agreement?

X No

Yes

If yes, is a formal agreemient, such as a Memorandum of Agreement, required or will a less
formal agreement, such as exchange of letters acknowledging reciprocity of cur states’
Concealed Weapons Licenses suffice?

Memorandum of Agreement
Exchange of Letters
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Criminal Law Division, Idaho State Police
700 8. Stratford Drive, Meridian, Idaho 83642
Telephone: {208) 884-7050, FAX: (208) 884-7228



